Scientific Advisory Council

Our Scientific Advisory Council helps guide the strategic direction of the Foundation’s work, ensuring innovation, relevance, and impact. The group is comprised of many of the most renowned leaders in the scientific and medical community, including many past presidents and honorees of the American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine.


  • Deborah Gaebler, MD, SAC CHAIR - Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Children’s Memorial Hospital as a Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and Pediatrics at the Shirley Ryan AbilityLab

  • Peter Rosenbaum, MD, FRCP(C), Chair Emeritus - Professor of Pediatrics, CanChild Center for Childhood Disability Research at McMaster University, Canada

  • Murray Goldstein, DO, MPH, Chair Emeritus - Commissioned medical officer in the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) and a member of the staff of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)

  • William Andrews, Ph.D, MD - Professor and Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham

  • Jan Brunstrom-Hernandez, MD - Pediatric Neurologist and Director of 1 CP Place, PLLC in Plano, TX

  • Hank Chambers, MD - Director of Cerebral Palsy Research at Rady Children’s Hospital in San Diego, CA

  • Ted Conway, Ph.D - Department Head and Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the Florida Institute of Technology

  • Diane Damiano, PT, Ph.D - Chief of the Functional and Applied Biomechanics Section at National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland.

  • Darcy L. Fehlings, MD, MSC, FRCP(C) - Head of the Division of Developmental Paediatrics and is a Professor in the Department of Paediatrics, at the University of Toronto

  • Hans Forssberg, MD, Ph.D - Professor of Basic and Clinical Neuroscience at the Department for Womens and Children’s Health at the Karolinska Institute, Solna Sweden

  • Eileen G. Fowler, Ph.D, PT - Director of Research & Education, UCLA Center for Cerebral Palsy

  • Kathleen Friel, Ph.D - Burke Medical Research Institute, Blythedale Children's Hospital, Weill Cornell Medical


  • Bernadette Gillick, Ph.D, MSPT, PT - Neuroscientist and Pediatric Physical Therapist, is a McKnight Land-Grant Professor at the University of Minnesota within the Medical School/Department of Rehabilitation Medicine

  • Laurie Glader, MD - Section Chief of the Division of Complex Health Care and Medical Director of the Comprehensive Cerebral Palsy Program at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.  

  • Jan Willem Gorter, MD, Ph.D, FRCP(C) - Director and a scientist at CanChild Centre for Childhood Disability Research at McMaster University, Canada

  • Nathalie Maitre, MD, Ph.D - Director of the NICU Follow-up Program and the Medical Director of NICU Developmental Therapies at Nationwide Children’s Hospital

  • Unni G. Narayanan, MBBS, MSC, FRCSC - Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon and Senior Associate Scientist at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, current Fellowship Director of Orthopedic Surgery, and Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto

  • Anna Penn, MD, Ph.D - Clinical neonatologist and developmental neuro scientist at Children’s National Health System in Washington, DC

  • James Rice, MD - Deputy Director, Medical Services, Women’s and Children’s Health Network and President of the Australasian Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine, Australia

  • Seth Warschausky, Ph.D - Professor in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of Michigan